Moon Valley, Atacama desert, Luna Robotic Research (Nasa), Chile, 2007

Space Project (© © Vincent Fournier)

Vincent Fournier : Space Project

Photography in open space

More information

SPACE PROJECT 

Dreams and visions are a fleeting product of our brain and yet they require a projection surface outside the conceptual world. What could be better suited to this than the vastness of space?
 
Space has thrilled and fascinated mankind since time immemorial. Man’s yearning to conquer this abstract concept in all its dimensions – terrestrial, aerial, planetary and celestial – is a reflection of a constantly evolving existential quest. Voyages of discovery date back to protohistoric times and tell of a love of adventure and challenge, of failure, loss and of course success. Space research is seemingly endless, the dual meaning of the word “space” being pivotal. While the early modern period saw the exploration of the world captured on paper in wondrous hand-drawn sketches, today’s world focuses on mathematical equations and abstract theories. Drones and satellites provide data that is subsequently analysed. Contemporary space exploration has assumed complex dimensions that are much more abstract than the original concepts.
 
In his work “Space Project”, Vincent Fournier captures the authentic setting of this field of research, its technical resources and the monumental expenditure involved. The photographer’s interest, however, focuses less on scientific curiosity than a hidden narrative element. Starting from an actual real context, he pushes his project towards the realm of fiction. The photography is not subject to a factual and contextual order, but rather a subjective and narrative development. Objective documentation alternates with shots that are staged. Under the direction of Fournier, the technological dream once again comes alive, the real space turning into the resonance body for human visions and stories.

BIOGRAPHY

Vincent Fournier was born in 1970 and lives in Paris. After graduating with a sociology degree and a Masters in Visual Arts, he obtained a diploma from the National School of Photography in Arles in 1997. Vincent Fournier’s work proposes a journey in some of the most representative utopias of the 20th and 21st century. His works is regularly exhibited in international galeries and festivals, such as Les Rencontres d’Arles, Mori Art Museum (Tokyo), Musée des Arts Décoratifs of Paris, Fondation EDF in Paris, Centre d’Art Contemporain in Pontmain (France), Architekturforum Aedes in Berlin, Z33 House for Contemporary Art in Genk (Belgium), Netherlands Architecture Institute, Rotterdam, Centre de la Photographie in Genève, Quai 1 Vevey in Switzerland, 798 Space in Beijing. 

www.vincentfournier.co.uk


 


Contact information for this event

Phone: 0035226903496
E-mail: info@clervauximage.lu
Internet: www.clervauximage.lu


Share this information

 
Address and map

en plein coeur du centre ville de Clervaux
L-9701 CLERVAUX
Luxembourg


Display on the map
When
Date(s) and time(s)

30-09-2016 - 29-09-2017


Add to my calendar
entry fee(s)

free

For the advanced search select:

Events or Addresses

connect with culture

Moon Valley, Atacama desert, Luna Robotic Research (Nasa), Chile, 2007

Space Project (© © Vincent Fournier)

Vincent Fournier : Space Project

Photography in open space

Plus d'information

SPACE PROJECT

Les rêves et visions sont le produit fugace de notre cerveau qui ont besoin d’une surface de projection vaste et étendue pour évoluer. Qu’est-ce qui serait mieux adapté à cet effet que l’espace?
 
L’espace a toujours exercé une fascination sur l’homme. La volonté de comprendre ce concept abstrait dans toutes ses dimensions – terrestre,  aérienne, planétaire et céleste – reflète la persévérance d’une quête existentielle qui semble en expansion permanente.
 
Rétrospectivement : Les grandes découvertes remontent jusqu’à la période protohistorique et témoignent du sens de l’aventure, de défis, d’échecs et de pertes, aussi bien que de succès posant la base à de nouvelles connaissances. La recherche spatiale semble sans fin et le sens ambigu du terme « espace » caractéristique dans ce sens. Si dans les temps modernes (depuis la Renaissance) l’exploration du monde se retraçait sur le papier dans une esthétique cartographique et par des esquisses dessinées à main levée, l’époque contemporaine s’applique à des équations mathématiques et des théories les plus abstraites. Des flux de données collectées par des drones et des satellites doivent être analysées. Aujourd’hui l’exploration spatiale a pris des dimensions complexes, le phénomène apparaît plus abstrait que les idées d’origine.
 
Dans son ouvrage « Space Project » Vincent Fournier plonge le regard dans les coulisses authentiques de la recherche spatiale. Il montre les ressources techniques et donne une idée de l'envergure monumentale du secteur. Mais l'intérêt du photographe se concentre moins sur la curiosité scientifique, qu’à la dimension narrative cachée. En partant d'un contexte réel, il amène son projet vers la fiction. Le travail photographique n’est pas soumis à un ordre objectif et contextuel, mais se soumet à une stratégie subjective, ainsi qu’au développement narratif et imaginaire. La documentation sobre et réaliste alterne avec des clichés construits par la mise en scène photographique. Mise en scène par Fournier le rêve technologique reprend des formes poétiques et contemplatives. L'espace réel devient le corps de résonance pour les visions humaines et ses histoires.

www.vincentfournier.co.uk



 


Contacts pour cet événement

Téléphone (Info): 0035226903496
E-mail (Infos): info@clervauximage.lu
Internet: www.clervauximage.lu


Partager cette information

 
Adresse et carte

en plein coeur du centre ville de Clervaux
L-9701 CLERVAUX
Luxembourg


Afficher sur la carte
Quand
Date(s) et horaire(s)

30/09/2016 - 29/09/2017


Ajouter à mon calendrier
prix d'entrée

gratuit

Sélectionnez la recherche avancée:

événements / adresses

connect with culture