©Jérémie Lenoir, Marges

©Jérémie Lenoir, Marges (© Jeremie Lenoir)

Jérémie Lenoir, Marges

installation photographique à ciel ouvert
exhibition in open space

More information

Jérémie Lenoir, Marges
 
The starting point of French photographer Jérémie Lenoir’s research is always the landscape.
 
Depicted in a tangible and realistic manner, the landscape environment reflects a society heavily affected by economic challenges and policy issues. In the grip of functional profitability, the landscape threatens to take on forms that are hostile to the human condition.
 
Lenoir’s photographic compositions resemble abstract paintings that appear both pictorial and graphic… They raise the question of “coherence” in an artistic, but also a geographic and landscape, sense.
A second question follows, arising from a humanist perspective: is the so-called cultural landscape – shaped and structured by man – becoming a space that is unbearable to live in?
 
Areas that elude classification, being neither urban nor rural, appear to be multiplying on the topographic map. The photographer thus carries out a logical yet essential manoeuvre: he analyses the phenomenon from a distance. The aerial views open up a wider perspective and call for new rules of interpretation. The horizon line that normally dictates the visual field disappears in favour of the shooting frame, which marks out the field of vision from the sky. The landscape is no longer understood as a real element, grasped through vertical and linear decoding, but is instead governed by the rules of the image. It becomes a play of morphology and chromatism, suggesting textures and patterns that are shapeless or geometric.
The abstract and surreal character of the sites evokes the discrepancy witnessed with regard to the authentic, so-called natural, landscape, in favour of a strange and artificial formalism. The result is reflected in photographs that are pictorially seductive and exude an impressive graphic power!
 
English translation by Claire Weyland


Contact information for this event

E-mail: info@clervauximage.lu
Internet: www.clervauximage.lu


Share this information

 
Address and map

en plein coeur du centre ville de Clervaux
L-9701 CLERVAUX
Luxembourg


Display on the map
When
Date(s) and time(s)

15-04-2016 - 14-04-2017


Add to my calendar
For the advanced search select:

Events or Addresses

connect with culture

©Jérémie Lenoir, Marges

©Jérémie Lenoir, Marges (© Jeremie Lenoir)

Jérémie Lenoir, Marges

installation photographique à ciel ouvert
exhibition in open space

Plus d'information

Jérémie Lenoir, Marges
 
Au départ des recherches du photographe français Jérémie Lenoir il y a le paysage.
 
Dans une présentation concrète et réaliste l’environnement paysager reflète une société fortement influencée par les enjeux de l’économie et de la politique. Sous l’emprise de la rentabilité fonctionnelle le paysage risque de prendre des formes hostiles par rapport à la condition humaine.
 
Les compositions photographiques de Lenoir ressemblent à des peintures abstraites qui paraissent à la fois picturales et graphiques… Elles posent la question de la « cohérence » artistique, mais aussi géographique et paysagère.
Un deuxième questionnement s’en suit, découlé d’un point de vue humaniste : Le paysage dit culturel – façonné et structuré par l’homme – devient-il un espace invivable?
 
Les territoires qui échappent à toute classification, étant ni urbains, ni ruraux, semblent se multiplier sur la carte topographique. Le photographe entame ainsi une manœuvre logique, mais primordiale : il analyse le phénomène par la distance. Les vues aériennes ouvrent le regard et imposent de nouvelles règles à la lecture. La ligne d’horizon qui détermine habituellement la vision disparaît en faveur du cadre photographique qui délimite seul le champ depuis le ciel. Le paysage n’est plus compris comme élément réel, appréhendé par un décodage vertical et linéaire, mais se voit soumis aux statuts de l’image. Il devient jeu de morphologie et de chromatisme, suggérant des textures et des motifs informes ou géométriques.
Le caractère abstrait et surréel des lieux évoque le décalage quant au paysage authentique, dit naturel, au profit d’un formalisme étrange et artificiel. Le résultat se reflète dans des photographies picturalement séduisantes et d’une force graphique impressionnante !
Texte: A. Meyer, Clervaux - cité de l'image

 


Contacts pour cet événement

E-mail (Infos): info@clervauximage.lu
Internet: www.clervauximage.lu


Partager cette information

 
Adresse et carte

en plein coeur du centre ville de Clervaux
L-9701 CLERVAUX
Luxembourg


Afficher sur la carte
Quand
Date(s) et horaire(s)

15/04/2016 - 14/04/2017


Ajouter à mon calendrier
Sélectionnez la recherche avancée:

événements / adresses

connect with culture