Château de Bourscheid
 
IMG_8453

Château de Bourscheid

Slideshow
Maison de Stolzembourg
 
Visitor information

The impressive castle of Bourscheid belongs to the most valuable historical possessions of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Its story begins with the first lord of the castle, Bertram of Bourscheid, whose name was mentioned in 1095 for the first time in the castle history. The construction of the castle began around the year 1000 by the replacement of older fortified constructions.
The castle proudly stands on a 150-meter-high cliff washed by the river Sauer and was unassailable by medieval weapons. Because of its all but inaccessibility the castle gained rapidly in strategic importance, as the multiple enlargements and restorations witness, which, in turn, also explain its several architectural styles.
For instance, the outer circular wall was built between 1350 and 1384. The Stolzembourg House was erected in 1384, whereas the castle courtyard was constructed around the year 1477. Twenty years later, the towers at the southside and the eastside were added, though the gateway was flanked by artillery bastions in the sixteenth century.
Since 1812 the castle ruin was slowly deteriorating until it was purchased by the Luxembourg government on 12th April 1972. Subsequently major archeological excavations and restorations have been done.
 


Share this information
 
 
Address and map
Château de Bourscheid

SCHLASSWEE
L-9140 BOURSCHEID
Luxembourg


Contact
Phone:

00352990570

Fax:

0035226959655

E-mail:

chateau.bourscheid@pt.lu

Internet:

www.bourscheid.lu


Add to my addressbook
For the advanced search select:

Events or Addresses

connect with culture

Château de Bourscheid
 
IMG_8453

Château de Bourscheid

Slideshow
Maison de Stolzembourg
 
Information visiteurs

Le saisissant château de Bourscheid est classé parmi les plus précieuses bâtisses historiques du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Le premier Seigneur du château fut Bertram de Bourscheid, cité pour la première fois en 1095 dans les annales de Bourscheid. Le début de la construction du château, remplaçant les vestiges d’anciennes fortifications, date de l’an 1000.
La forteresse magistrale surplombe majestueusement la vallée de la Sûre sur un rocher haut de 150 mètres et était imprenable pour des armes médiévales. Dû à son accès difficile, le château atteignit rapidement une importance stratégique, comme en témoignent ses multiples agrandissements et restaurations, expliquant les différents styles de construction.
L’enceinte extérieure, par exemple, fut érigée entre 1350 et 1384. La Maison de Stolzembourg date de l’année 1384, tandis que la cour du château fut construite aux environs de 1477. Vingt ans plus tard des tours furent ajoutés aux côtés sud et ouest alors qu’au seizième siècle la porte d’accès fut flanquée de bastions d’artillerie.
Depuis 1812 le château tomba peu à peu en ruine jusqu’à son acquisition par l’Etat luxembourgeois le 12 avril 1972 qui, depuis, entreprend de vastes fouilles et des travaux de conservation-restauration.
 


Partager cette information
 
 
Adresse et carte
Château de Bourscheid

SCHLASSWEE
L-9140 BOURSCHEID
Luxembourg


Contact
Téléphone:
Contact:

00352990570

Fax:
Contact:

0035226959655

E-mail:
Contact:

chateau.bourscheid@pt.lu

Internet:

www.bourscheid.lu


Ajouter à mon carnet d'adresses
Sélectionnez la recherche avancée:

événements / adresses

connect with culture