Fieldworks by Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz
 
Fieldworks by Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz (© Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz)

Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz, Fieldworks

More information

Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz
Fieldworks
 
In the work of Anne Müchler and Nico Schmitz, while the transition from “Fieldworks” to “Colour field” appears entirely unprompted, the photographs nevertheless have more of a connection to a concrete environment rather than gravitating to a pure and context-free colour experience.
A useful hint is the literal translation of the work’s title, which focuses the attention back to nature, an open terrain or an empty field. The fieldwork of the two photographers was conducted in Dortmund-Hörde’s Phoenix Park. This former industrial area is undergoing a renaturation process: previously closed-off areas used for economic purposes are now freely accessible in parts and are being enjoyed for “local recreation”. An example of how a man-made cultural landscape can be newly defined, not just visually but also functionally. Once upon a time, industry defined the area not as a landscape but as a territory for resources. There are still traces from its earliest times, yet the industrial wasteland remains an artificial construction. It is no longer what it used to be, just as it is nowhere near what it is meant to be.
 
This state of uncertainty is reflected in the photographic studies conducted by Anne Müchler and Nico Schmitz. Their structure is attributed to graphical clarity and minimalist colouring. In addition, some images feature a balance of in each case an organic and an industrial element. And yet there is confusion between appearance and reality: between modern still life and the concept of abstract landscape. The landscape is implied by the paper and cardboard colour fields. They are reminiscent of fields, stretches of land and paths, characterised by the filigree threads of the linear perspective. The geometrical principle underlying the images appears natural, by contrast the organic, shapeless subjects seem unreal. They form a dissonance within the otherwise harmonious compositional unit. In the studio, the heterogeneous sculpture made of paper and real findings faces the photographic medium, which succeeds in a reconciliation on a two-dimensional level.

English translation by Claire Weyland

 


Share this information
 
 
Address and map
Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz, Fieldworks

9 Montée du Château
L-9712 CLERVAUX
Luxembourg


Contact
E-mail:

info@clervauximage.lu

Internet:

www.clervauximage.lu


Add to my addressbook
For the advanced search select:

Events or Addresses

connect with culture

Fieldworks by Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz
 
Fieldworks by Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz (© Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz)

Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz, Fieldworks

Plus d'information

Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz
Fieldworks
 
A partir de l’expression „Fieldworks“, les travaux de Anne Müchler et Nico Schmitz évoquent de façon spontanée le „Colour field“. Et pourtant une autre approche semble plus justifiée, celle qui démontre la relation avec l’environnement concret plutôt qu’à une pure sensation, libre de tout contexte objectif.
 
Une piste pertinente serait ainsi la traduction littérale du titre qui dirige l’attention vers la nature, sur le terrain, dans le champ, à ciel ouvert. Les enquêtes sur les lieux amènent les deux photographes au Phoenix-Park à Dortmund-Hörde. L’ancien territoire industriel fait objet d’une renaturation : le site autrefois réservé à l’utilité économique est aujourd’hui en grandes parties accessible au public pour la détente et la distraction en périphérie urbaine. Un exemple comment le paysage culturel, dessiné par l’homme, peut être redéfini non seulement optiquement mais repensé aussi du point de vue de sa fonction. L’industrie a jadis refusé à la zone le statut de paysage pour privilégier ses ressources souterraines. Il y a toujours des indices naturels, bien que la friche tende vers un terrain maniéré. Elle n’est plus ce qu’elle a été, mais elle est loin de ce qu’elle est supposée devenir.
 
Cet état de transition se reflète dans les études photographiques d’Anne Müchler et de Nico Schmitz. La composition se caractérise par des rapports sobres et graphiques, ainsi que par un chromatisme minimaliste. En outre on peut constater dans certaines images un équilibre d’éléments organiques et d’objets industriels. Il reste quand même la confusion entre l’essence et l’apparence: entre nature morte contemporaine et concept paysager abstrait. Ici, l’espace est transposé en surface colorée formée à partir de papier et de carton. On pense à des champs, limites et territoires dessinés par les traits filigranes de la perspective linéaire. Le principe géométrique qui fournit la base à chaque pièce de la série parait naturel. Pour les motifs organiques et informes c’est le contraire. Ils représentent une dissonance dans une construction harmonieuse. Au studio, la sculpture hétérogène, conçue en papiers et en éléments rassemblés in situ, est confrontée au médium photographique. C’est la photographie qui réussit finalement une réconciliation sur le plan à deux dimensions.
 
 
texte: A. Meyer, Clervaux - cité de l'image


Partager cette information
 
 
Adresse et carte
Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz, Fieldworks

9 Montée du Château
L-9712 CLERVAUX
Luxembourg


Contact
E-mail:
Infos:

info@clervauximage.lu

Internet:

www.clervauximage.lu


Ajouter à mon carnet d'adresses
Sélectionnez la recherche avancée:

événements / adresses

connect with culture