Chateau de Clervaux by fs999 at
Chateau de Clervaux by fs999 at

Château de Clervaux

Chateau de Clervaux 1
Chateau de Clervaux 2


The castle stands, splendid on a rocky outcrop called « Lay » horseshoe surrounded by the houses of the village. The date of the first foundations of the building is lost in the mists of time. Remnants of the Celts? Romans? We should let our imagination run freely and try to assemble the pieces when possible.

More information

The oldest part is the west wing, which is surrounded by the first residential premises and dates back to the 12th century. It was built on the initiative of Gerard Count of Sponheim, brother of the Count of Vianden. At the beginning of the15th century, under the leadership of the powerful house of Brandenburg, the built-up area has increased dramatically. To protect the South flank Frederick I built the huge tower of Burgundy, which also houses the prison.

A little late, in the same part of the castle, larger residential premises as well as caves, but more importantly the tower of the Witches were built in the first courtyard to ensure the defence of the fortress. In 1634, Claude de Lannoy has the luxury to replace small housing constructions and stables the northern part of the castle by spacious reception room, including the Knights’ Hall, made in a Spanish Flemish style.

A quarter century later, on the order of Albert Eugene Lannoy, administrative buildings, stables and barn enhance the first courtyard at the same time eliminating a local Church. The development of housing for a caretaker takes place in 1671, which nowadays was replaced by the coffee shop of the Old Castle. In 1721, new stable are established to the left of the tower of the Witches. In 1887, the achievements of Albert Eugene de Lannoy were destroyed and the recovered stones used for the erection of a mansion for Count Berlaymont in the park in front of the Castle.

In 1927-1930, the old castle became private property. The Ardennes offensive during the Second World War transformed it in a lamentable ruin, which was then acquired by the Luxembourg State and superbly restored.

This venerable witness to a prestigious past is now home to a the exhibition of old castles’ models, a War Museum exhibiting weapons and souvenirs from the Ardennes offensive (1944-1945) and a remarkable collection of art-documentary photographs – « The Family of Man » curated by Edward Steichen which flourished in the United States before taking house in Clervaux.


Translated in English from

Related buildings or venues

- Musée de la Bataille des Ardennes de Clervaux / Museum der Ardennenoffensive, CLERVAUX - Luxembourg
- Musée des Maquettes des Châteaux Luxembourgeois /Ausstellung der Modelle der Schlösser und Burgen Luxemburgs, CLERVAUX - Luxembourg

Share this information

Events in relation

Alfred Eisenstaedt, Time and Life

The Family of Man

Château de Clervaux

01-03-2016 - 01-01-2018
Permanent Exhibitions
Address and map
Château de Clervaux

Château de Clervaux


00352 92 96 57


00352 92 96 58



Add to my addressbook
For the advanced search select:

Events or Addresses

connect with culture

Chateau de Clervaux by fs999 at flickr.com
 
Chateau de Clervaux by fs999 at flickr.com

Château de Clervaux

Slideshow
Chateau de Clervaux 1
Chateau de Clervaux 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FEZJ2Y8Hbb4http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FEZJ2Y8Hbb4
 
Résumé

 LE CHÂTEAU

 

Le château se dresse, splendide, sur un éperon rocheux dit « Lay » entouré en fer à cheval par les habitations du bourg. La date des premières constructions se perd dans la nuit des temps. Vestige des Celtes ? Des Romains? Laissons à notre imagination le champ libre, et montons à l’assaut du contrôlable.


Plus d'information

La partie la plus ancienne est l’aile ouest entourée des premiers locaux d’habitation, remontant au 12e siècle, sur l’initiative du comte Gérard de Sponheim, frère du comte de Vianden. Au début du 15e siècle, sous l’impulsion de la puissante maison de Brandenbourg, la surface bâtie s’accroît considérablement. Pour protéger le flanc Sud, Frédéric Ier y fait construire l’énorme tour de Bourgogne, abritant également la prison.

Un peu plus tard, dans ce même flanc sud, surgissent de plus vastes locaux d’habitation et des aménagements de caves, mais surtout, dans la première cour du château, la tour des Sorcières, pour assurer la défense de la forteresse. En 1634, Claude de Lannoy s’offre le luxe de remplacer, dans la partie nord, les mesquines constructions d’habitation et d’écuries par de spacieuses salles de réception, notamment la salle des chevaliers, style flamand espagnol.

Un quart de siècle plus tard, à l’instigation d’Albert Eugène de Lannoy, la première cour s’enrichit de bâtiments administratifs, d’écuries et de granges éliminant une église locale. En 1671 a lieu l'aménagement de logements pour un gardien, lesquels ont cédé de nos jours la place au café-restaurant du Vieux Château. En 1721, de nouvelles écuries sont établies à gauche de la tour des
Sorcières. En 1887, les réalisations d’Albert Eugène de Lannoy sont démolies et les pierres récupérées sont employées pour l’érection, dans le parc situé en face, d’une moderne demeure seigneuriale pour le comte de Berlaymont.

En 1927 - 1930, le vieux château devient propriété privée. L’offensive des Ardennes, au cours de la dernière guerre mondiale, en fit une lamentable ruine, acquise par l’État luxembourgeois, puis super-
bement restaurée.

Ce vénérable témoin d’un passé prestigieux abrite aujourd’hui une exposition des maquettes de vieux châteaux du Luxembourg, un musée de guerre, exhibant armes et souvenirs de l’offensive desArdennes (1944 - 1945) et une remarquable collection de photos artistiques documentaires «The Family of Man» d’Edward Steichen qui a fait florès en Amérique avant de prendre gîte à Clervaux.

 

Auteur: associationchateaux.lu


Bâtiments en relation

- Musée de la Bataille des Ardennes de Clervaux / Museum der Ardennenoffensive, CLERVAUX - Luxembourg
- Musée des Maquettes des Châteaux Luxembourgeois /Ausstellung der Modelle der Schlösser und Burgen Luxemburgs, CLERVAUX - Luxembourg


Partager cette information
 

Evénements reliés

Alfred Eisenstaedt, Time and Life

The Family of Man

Château de Clervaux

01/03/2016 - 01/01/2018
Expositions permanentes, collections
 
 
Adresse et carte
Château de Clervaux

Château de Clervaux
L-9701 CLERVAUX
Luxembourg


Contact
Téléphone:

00352 92 96 57

Fax:

00352 92 96 58

E-mail:
Infos:

info@family-of-man.public.lu

Internet:

www.associationchateaux.lu

www.thefamilyofman.lu


Ajouter à mon carnet d'adresses
Sélectionnez la recherche avancée:

événements / adresses

connect with culture