Musée Dräi Eechelen: Forteresse, Histoire, Identités
The Musée Dräi Eechelen – forteresse, histoire, identités is situated in the restored keep of fort Thüngen, which is an extraordinary historical building.
The permanent exhibition illustrates a different era of the fortress in each of the casemates as well as its influence on the country’s history. The tour begins in the Middle Ages with the capture of the city of Luxembourg by the Burgundians in 1443, and ends with the construction of the Adolf Bridge in 1903.
More than 600 objects and original documents, a lot of which have never been shown before, highlight the diversity of the collections. A special room houses a selection of historical photographs which present the fortress immediately before and after it was razed.
The history of the building of the museum constitutes in itself an important element of the permanent exhibition. With its impressive underground galleries and mines, it corresponds to a large extent to the original condition of the last phase of its expansion in 1836/1837.
The virtual fortress: The visitor is invited independently to explore important themes of the permanent exhibition through an interactive database and audio-visual documentations in the multi-media room. There are audio guides which provide detailed explanations for many objects in French, English, German and Luxembourgish.
In the auditorium, the film ‘Luxemburg 4D’ illustrates the political, economic, social and cultural development of the country in the 20th century.