Football Hallelujah!

Football Hallelujah!

Football Hallelujah!

More information

Is football, the world’s most popular sport, a religion of the 21st century? For many supporters it is more than a simple passion: football shapes lives, provides a purpose in life and may even give reason to live. It may unite, but also separate people.


At first glance, the world of football and the world of religion do not have a lot in common. But taking a closer look, similarities can be found: both are marked by rituals and emotional experiences that are shared with fellow “believers”. Authority and firm rules play a role in both, as do ideals and virtues. Symbols have a lot of power. Sport reports are often about worship, saviours and saints, even about “football gods”. Fans spread slogans such as “football is my religion”. Has football indeed become a modern form of faith?
“Football Hallelujah!” appeals to a large audience. By means of “venerable” objects, merchandise and memorabilia, lots of photos and films, music and interactive media stations including a quiz, the exhibition highlights the fascinating relation between football, religion and society in an international context.


The exhibition furthermore reflects the diversity of football supporters in Luxembourg who are passionate about foreign as well as domestic clubs. In a separate section, photos and objects as well as local club insignia testify to the more than 100 years of Luxembourg football history.
International travelling exhibition, conceived by Historisches Museum Basel and Amsterdam Museum; venues: Amsterdam, Basel, Bremen, Lyon, Luxembourg, Liège, Barcelona, Moscow
 
 


Contact information for this event

E-mail: visites@2musees.vdl.lu
Internet: www.mhvl.lu


Share this information

 
Address and map

14, rue Saint Esprit
L-2090 LUXEMBOURG
Luxembourg


Display on the map
When
Date(s) and time(s)

08-10-2016 - 12-03-2017

Saturday, 08-10-2016
Sunday, 09-10-2016
more


Add to my calendar
For the advanced search select:

Events or Addresses

connect with culture

Football Hallelujah!

Football Hallelujah!

Football Hallelujah!

Mehr Information

Ist Fußball, die weltweit beliebteste Sportart, eine Religion des 21. Jahrhunderts? Für viele Fans bedeutet er viel mehr als eine simple Leidenschaft: Der Fußball prägt das ganze Leben, gibt ihm Inhalt und Sinn. Er kann Menschen vereinen, aber auch trennen.


Auf den ersten Blick haben die Welt des Fußballs und die der Religion nicht viel gemeinsam. Aber bei genauerem Hinsehen lassen sich Ähnlichkeiten feststellen: Beide sind von Ritualen geprägt und bieten emotionale Erlebnisse, die mit anderen „Mitgläubigen“ geteilt werden. Autorität und feste Regeln gehören dazu, ebenso Ideale und Tugenden. Symbole besitzen eine große Kraft. In Sportreportagen geht es häufig um Verehrung, Erlöser, Heilige, ja sogar um „Fußballgötter“. Die Fans selbst verbreiten Slogans wie „Fußball ist meine Religion“. Ist der Fußball tatsächlich eine moderne Glaubensform geworden?


„Football Hallelujah!“ richtet sich an ein breites Publikum. Anhand von „verehrungswürdigen“ Objekten, Fanartikeln und persönlichen Souvenirs, zahlreichen Fotos und Filmen, Musik und interaktiven Medienstationen inklusive Quiz zeichnet die Ausstellung die faszinierende Beziehung zwischen Fußball, Religion und Gesellschaft im internationalen Kontext nach.
Zudem spiegelt die Ausstellung die Diversität der Fans in Luxemburg wider, die sowohl internationale als auch lokale Clubs unterstützen. In einem gesonderten Bereich illustrieren Fotos und Objekte sowie Insignien örtlicher Vereine die über 100-jährige Luxemburger Fußballgeschichte.
Internationale Wanderausstellung, konzipiert durch Historisches Museum Basel und Amsterdam Museum; Spielorte: Amsterdam, Basel, Bremen, Lyon, Luxemburg, Lüttich, Barcelona, Moskau
 
 


Kontakte zu dieser Veranstaltung

E-mail (Info): visites@2musees.vdl.lu
Internet: www.mhvl.lu


Diese Information teilen

 
Adresse und Karte

14, rue Saint Esprit
L-2090 LUXEMBOURG
Luxembourg


Auf der Karte anzeigen
Wann
Termin(e) und Uhrzeit(en)

08.10.2016 - 12.03.2017

Samstag, 08.10.2016
Sonntag, 09.10.2016
mehr


Zu Kalender hinzufügen
Zur Suche wählen Sie zwischen:

Events oder Adressen

connect with culture