Espace \"Steichen - The Photographer\"

Espace \"Steichen - The Photographer\" (© Éric Chenal)

STEICHEN - THE PHOTOGRAPHER au MNHA

More information

Edward Steichen (1879-1973) was born in Bivange, and is one of the most famous American photographers of the 20th century. He ranks among the most prominent figures of the history of photography, with his oeuvre documenting the transition from pictorialism to realism.
MNHA’s collection was bequeathed by the artist himself and handed over to the museum in 1985 by his widow Joanna T. Steichen in collaboration with the George Eastman House. For conservation purposes, the collection will be shown in cycles of 20 photos at a time.
Over the 1960s, Steichen had already given to his country of origin the exhibition The Family of Man and The Bitter Years, which he put together at the MoMA from photos by other artists. These can be seen in Clervaux and Dudelange respectively. From now on, under the banner of the Steichen Collections, the different aspects of his work can be seen in three different locations in Luxembourg.


Contact information for this event

Phone: 00352479330-1
E-mail: musee@mnha.etat.lu
Internet: http://www.mnha.lu/fr/Parcours-thematiques/Edward-Steichen-The-Photographer


Share this information

 
Address and map

Marché-aux-Poissons
L-2345 LUXEMBOURG
Luxembourg


Display on the map
When
Date(s) and time(s)

From: 19-03-2015

10:00 – 18:00 (de mardi à dimanche)
18:00 – 20:00 (jeudi nocturne)
Thursday, 19-03-2015
more


Add to my calendar
entry fee(s)

free

For the advanced search select:

Events or Addresses

connect with culture

Espace \"Steichen - The Photographer\"

Espace \"Steichen - The Photographer\" (© Éric Chenal)

STEICHEN - THE PHOTOGRAPHER au MNHA

Mehr Information

Edward Steichen (1879 – 1973), in Luxemburg in der Gemeinde Bivingen geboren, ist einer der renommiertesten amerikanischen Fotografen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Sein Werk bekundet den Wendepunkt vom Pictorialismus zur realistischen Fotografie. Damit zählt er zu wichtigsten Persönlichkeiten in der Geschichte der Fotografie überhaupt.
Die Sammlung wurde dem MNHA vom Künstler selbst vermacht und 1985 von seiner Witwe Joanna T. Steichen in Zusammenarbeit mit dem George Eastman House dem Museum überreicht. Aus konservatorischen Gründen werden zyklisch immer 20 andere der 178 Werke in wechselnden Ausstellungen gezeigt.
In den 1960er-Jahre schenkte Edward Steichen seinem Herkunftsland die berühmten Ausstellungen The Family of Man und The Bitter Years, die er im MoMA mit Aufnahmen bedeutender Fotografen seiner Zeit konzipiert hatte. Sie sind heute in Clerf und in Düdelingen ausgestellt. Gemeinsam mit den eigenen Arbeiten Steichens im Nationalmuseum bilden sie die drei Luxemburger Steichen Collections, die jeweils verschiedene Aspekte seines Schaffens zeigen.


Kontakte zu dieser Veranstaltung

Telefon (Empfang): 00352479330-1
E-mail (Kontakt): musee@mnha.etat.lu
Internet: http://www.mnha.lu/fr/Parcours-thematiques/Edward-Steichen-The-Photographer


Diese Information teilen

 
Adresse und Karte

Marché-aux-Poissons
L-2345 LUXEMBOURG
Luxembourg


Auf der Karte anzeigen
Wann
Termin(e) und Uhrzeit(en)

Ab dem: 19.03.2015

10:00 – 18:00 (de mardi à dimanche)
18:00 – 20:00 (jeudi nocturne)
Donnerstag, 19.03.2015
mehr


Zu Kalender hinzufügen
Eintrittspreis(e)

Eintritt Frei

Zur Suche wählen Sie zwischen:

Events oder Adressen

connect with culture