Fieldworks by Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz
 
Fieldworks by Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz (© Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz)

Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz, Fieldworks

More information

Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz
Fieldworks
 
In the work of Anne Müchler and Nico Schmitz, while the transition from “Fieldworks” to “Colour field” appears entirely unprompted, the photographs nevertheless have more of a connection to a concrete environment rather than gravitating to a pure and context-free colour experience.
A useful hint is the literal translation of the work’s title, which focuses the attention back to nature, an open terrain or an empty field. The fieldwork of the two photographers was conducted in Dortmund-Hörde’s Phoenix Park. This former industrial area is undergoing a renaturation process: previously closed-off areas used for economic purposes are now freely accessible in parts and are being enjoyed for “local recreation”. An example of how a man-made cultural landscape can be newly defined, not just visually but also functionally. Once upon a time, industry defined the area not as a landscape but as a territory for resources. There are still traces from its earliest times, yet the industrial wasteland remains an artificial construction. It is no longer what it used to be, just as it is nowhere near what it is meant to be.
 
This state of uncertainty is reflected in the photographic studies conducted by Anne Müchler and Nico Schmitz. Their structure is attributed to graphical clarity and minimalist colouring. In addition, some images feature a balance of in each case an organic and an industrial element. And yet there is confusion between appearance and reality: between modern still life and the concept of abstract landscape. The landscape is implied by the paper and cardboard colour fields. They are reminiscent of fields, stretches of land and paths, characterised by the filigree threads of the linear perspective. The geometrical principle underlying the images appears natural, by contrast the organic, shapeless subjects seem unreal. They form a dissonance within the otherwise harmonious compositional unit. In the studio, the heterogeneous sculpture made of paper and real findings faces the photographic medium, which succeeds in a reconciliation on a two-dimensional level.

English translation by Claire Weyland

 


Share this information
 
 
Address and map
Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz, Fieldworks

9 Montée du Château
L-9712 CLERVAUX
Luxembourg


Contact
E-mail:

info@clervauximage.lu

Internet:

www.clervauximage.lu


Add to my addressbook
For the advanced search select:

Events or Addresses

connect with culture

Fieldworks by Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz
 
Fieldworks by Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz (© Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz)

Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz, Fieldworks

Mehr Information

Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz
Fieldworks
 
Auch wenn sich bei der Arbeit von Anne Müchler und Nico Schmitz ganz spontan der Übergang von “Fieldworks” zu “Color field” anbietet, so haben die Fotografien doch eher eine Verbindung zur konkreten Umwelt, als dass sie zum reinen und kontextfreien Farberlebnis tendieren.
Eine sinnvolle Spur ist die wörtliche Übersetzung des Titels, der die Aufmerksamkeit zurück zur Natur, ins offene Gelände oder aufs freie Feld führt. Die Feldforschung der beiden Fotografen bezieht sich auf den Phoenix-Park in Dortmund-Hörde. Das ehemalige Industriegebiet ist Objekt einer Renaturierung: die früher geschlossene Fläche mit ökonomischem Nutzen, ist heute zum Teil frei zugänglich und dient der „Naherholung“. Ein Beispiel, wie die von Menschenhand geschaffene Kulturlandschaft sich nicht nur optisch, sondern auch funktionell neu bestimmen lässt. Einst hat die Industrie das Areal nicht als Landschaft, sondern als Territorium für Ressourcen definiert. Es gibt noch Indizien aus ursprünglichen Zeiten, doch die Industriebrache bleibt ein künstliches Konstrukt. Sie ist nicht mehr, was sie zuvor war und ist ebenso wenig, was sie später einmal werden soll.
 
Dieser Schwebezustand spiegelt sich in den fotografischen Studien von Anne Müchler und Nico Schmitz wider. Der Aufbau erklärt sich durch grafische Klarheit, minimalistische Farbgebung. Zusätzlich befindet sich in einigen Bildern ein Gleichgewicht von jeweils einem organischen und einem industriellen Element. Und dennoch besteht die Konfusion zwischen Sein und Schein: zwischen modernem Stillleben und abstraktem Landschaftskonzept. Der Landschaftsraum wird angedeutet durch die Farbfelder aus Papier und Pappe. Sie erinnern an Felder, Flächen und Wege, gezeichnet durch die filigranen Fäden der Linearperspektive. Das geometrische Prinzip, das den Bildern zu Grunde liegt, erscheint natürlich, unwirklich dagegen die organischen, unförmigen Motive. Sie sind die Dissonanz in der sonst stimmigen kompositorischen Einheit. Im Studio trifft die heterogene Skulptur aus Papier und realen Fundstücken auf das fotografische Medium. Der Fotografie gelingt die Versöhnung auf zweidimensionaler Fläche.



Text: A. Meyer, Clervaux - cité de l'image

 


Diese Information teilen
 
 
Adresse und Karte
Anne Müchler & Nico Schmitz, Fieldworks

9 Montée du Château
L-9712 CLERVAUX
Luxembourg


Kontakt
E-mail:
Info:

info@clervauximage.lu

Internet:

www.clervauximage.lu


Zu Kontakten hinzufügen
Zur Suche wählen Sie zwischen:

Events oder Adressen

connect with culture