Fort Thüngen
 
Fort Thüngen (© MNHA)

Musée Dräi Eechelen: Forteresse, Histoire, Identités

Slideshow
Tom Lucas/2006
 
More information

The Musée Dräi Eechelen – forteresse, histoire, identités is situated in the restored keep of fort Thüngen, which is an extraordinary historical building.

The permanent exhibition illustrates a different era of the fortress in each of the casemates as well as its influence on the country’s history. The tour begins in the Middle Ages with the capture of the city of Luxembourg by the Burgundians in 1443, and ends with the construction of the Adolf Bridge in 1903.

More than 600 objects and original documents, a lot of which have never been shown before, highlight the diversity of the collections. A special room houses a selection of historical photographs which present the fortress immediately before and after it was razed.

The history of the building of the museum constitutes in itself an important element of the permanent exhibition. With its impressive underground galleries and mines, it corresponds to a large extent to the original condition of the last phase of its expansion in 1836/1837.

The virtual fortress: The visitor is invited independently to explore important themes of the permanent exhibition through an interactive database and audio-visual documentations in the multi-media room. There are audio guides which provide detailed explanations for many objects in French, English, German and Luxembourgish.

In the auditorium, the film ‘Luxemburg 4D’ illustrates the political, economic, social and cultural development of the country in the 20th century.


Related buildings or venues

- Musée national d'histoire et d'art, Luxembourg, LUXEMBOURG - Luxembourg
- d'stater muséeën - Groupement des Musées de Luxembourg-Ville - Vereinigung der Museen der Stadt Luxemburg , LUXEMBOURG - Luxembourg


Share this information
 
 
Address and map
Musée Dräi Eechelen: Forteresse, Histoire, Identités

5 PARK DRAI EECHELEN
L-1499 LUXEMBOURG
Luxembourg


Contact
Phone:

00352264335

Fax:

0035226433599

E-mail:

info@m3e.public.lu

Internet:

www.m3e.lu


Add to my addressbook
For the advanced search select:

Events or Addresses

connect with culture

Fort Thüngen
 
Fort Thüngen (© MNHA)

Musée Dräi Eechelen: Forteresse, Histoire, Identités

Slideshow
Tom Lucas/2006
 
Mehr Information

Das Musée Dräi Eechelen - Forteresse, Histoire, Identités ist im restaurierten Reduit des Fort Thüngen, gebaut 1732-33, eines aussergewöhnlichen historischen Bauwerks, untergebracht.

Die Dauerausstellung veranschaulicht in den einzelnen Kasematten jeweils eine Epoche der Festung sowie ihren Einfluss auf die Landesgeschichte. Der Rundgang beginnt im Mittelalter mit der Einnahme der Stadt Luxemburg durch die Burgunder 1443 und endet mit dem Bau der Adolf-Brücke 1903.

Über 600 zum grossen Teil noch nie gezeigte Objekte und Originaldokumente unterstreichen die Vielfalt der Sammlungen. Ein Sonderraum beherbergt eine Auswahl von historischen Fotografien, welche die Festung unmittelbar vor und während der Schleifung dokumentieren.

Der historische Museumsbau ist selbst ein wichtiges Element der Dauerausstellung. Mit seinen beeindruckenden unterirdischen Galerien und Minen entspricht er noch weitestgehend dem Originalzustand der letzten Ausbauphase von 1836/37.

Die virtuelle Festung: ein Multimediaraum lädt den Besucher ein, wichtige Themen der Dauerausstellung mittels einer interaktiven Datenbank und audiovisueller Dokumentationen eigenständig zu vertiefen. Audioguides mit ausführlichen Erklärungen zu einer Vielzahl von Objekten stehen in deutscher, französischer, englischer und luxemburgischer Sprache zur Verfügung.

Im Auditorium des Museums schildert der Film "Luxemburg 4D" die politische, wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Entwicklung des Landes im 20. Jahrhundert.


In Beziehung stehende Gebäude

- Musée national d'histoire et d'art, Luxembourg, LUXEMBOURG - Luxembourg
- d'stater muséeën - Groupement des Musées de Luxembourg-Ville - Vereinigung der Museen der Stadt Luxemburg , LUXEMBOURG - Luxembourg


Diese Information teilen
 
 
Adresse und Karte
Musée Dräi Eechelen: Forteresse, Histoire, Identités

5 PARK DRAI EECHELEN
L-1499 LUXEMBOURG
Luxembourg


Kontakt
Telefon:
Empfang:

00352264335

Fax:
Empfang:

0035226433599

E-mail:
Kontakt:

info@m3e.public.lu

Internet:

www.m3e.lu


Zu Kontakten hinzufügen
Zur Suche wählen Sie zwischen:

Events oder Adressen

connect with culture